Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Building Canada’s Strengths: Oceans R&D

NCE connects clusters of expertise from across country

 This story is taken from the NCE anniversary report "Building on 25 Years of R&D Excellence."

Photo: Ramon Terrado / ArcticNet

Photo: Ramon Terrado / ArcticNet

Canada is a global steward of the sea, with three world-class science clusters (British Columbia, Quebec and Atlantic Canada) and the longest coastline in the world. A recent Council of Canadian Academies report concluded that coordination across jurisdictions and disciplines is critical to maintaining this leadership position. The NCE has been doing exactly that since funding the first national network in this sector in 2003.


Building blocks

The Government of Canada has invested more than $113 million in ArcticNet since its launch in 2003. It represents Canada’s largest commitment to date to explore the social, economic and environmental impacts of climate change and modernization in the coastal Canadian Arctic. Headquartered at Quebec City’s Université Laval, ArcticNet facilitates multidisciplinary projects involving 145 researchers, as well as students, Inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector. Its main research platform is the CCGS Amundsen icebreaker.

A second oceans-related NCE is hosted at Dalhousie University. The Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR) facilitates partnerships between academia, government, the insurance industry, the oil and gas sector, marine technology firms, coastal communities and NGOs to reduce Canada’s vulnerability to marine hazards and emergencies.

Two CECRs are capitalizing on Canada’s global expertise in ocean sciences to open new markets for Canadian companies. The Ocean Networks Canada Innovation Centre (ONCIC) supports commercialization and export opportunities for advanced technologies developed by the NEPTUNE and VENUS cabled observatories on Canada’s west coast, as well as a mini-observatory in the Arctic Ocean. The St. John’s NL-based Leading Operational Observations and Knowledge for the North (LOOKNorth) validates and drives commercialization of remote sensing technologies for environmental monitoring, and safe and sustainable development of Canada’s northern natural resources.


Taking collaboration to the next level

Shared expertise and collaborative governance

  • Leaders from ArcticNet, MEOPAR, ONCIC and LOOKNorth have served on each other’s boards of directors and contributed to their strategic direction.
  • Researchers and stakeholders from ArcticNet, ONCIC and MEOPAR were among the Expert Panel members that produced the Council of Canadian Academies landmark report, Ocean Science in Canada: Meeting the Challenge, Seizing the Opportunity (November 2013).

Collaborative research

  • Germany and Canada signed an agreement in 2012 that supports greater collaboration between their respective researchers, including formal links with ArcticNet and MEOPAR. Common areas of interest include climate change, tsunami risk and resource exploration.
  • ONCIC and ArcticNet collaborate in developing and demonstrating world-leading Canadian technologies that provide continuous and real-time monitoring of the Arctic marine environment.
  • LOOKNorth and ArcticNet investigated ice island fragments from Greenland’s massive Petermann glacier, which threaten oil platforms in the Grand Banks off Newfoundland. LOOKNorth used the data to develop a risk model for drift and deterioration of the ice islands.

Accelerating knowledge transfer and commercialization

  • ONCIC provides Canadian industry with expertise and access to the Ocean Networks Canada Observatory to commercialize technologies needed to develop coastal risk models for MEOPAR, including underwater sensors to detect a passing tsunami.
  • ONCIC organizes international trade missions to introduce new technologies into growing markets such as Brazil, China and India, and to establish academic-industry collaborations involving ArcticNet and MEOPAR.

As a partner in AtlantOS, MEOPAR can help to develop and promote a made-in-Canada strategy for partnerships and cooperation with international groups. It will also ensure Canadian capacities and priorities are represented in this important international research effort.

– Doug Wallace, Scientific Director, MEOPAR

By collaborating with other NCEs we can quickly receive a broader base of requirement inputs to guide our efforts and help promote the outcomes to a wider user community. This allows us to go from needs to operational solutions more quickly than if we were operating in isolation.

– William Jefferies, Executive Director, LOOKNorth

Each of the three networks naturally focuses a somewhat different expertise on one of Canada’s three oceans. This situation creates real opportunities for collaboration among the three networks. Such transcontinental partnerships contribute to mending the fragmentation of ocean sciences in Canada.

– Louis Fortier, Scientific Director, ArcticNet

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Renforcer les atouts du Canada : recherche et développement océanographique

Les RCE relient les grappes d'expertise de l'ensemble du pays

 Cet article provient du rapport sur le 25e anniversaire des RCE, « Forts de 25 années d’excellence en R et D ».

Photo: Ramon Terrado / ArcticNet

Photo: Ramon Terrado / ArcticNet

Avec ses trois grappes scientifiques de calibre mondial (Colombie-Britannique, Québec et Canada atlantique) et son littoral qui est le plus long du monde, le Canada est un gardien mondial des océans. Selon un rapport publié par le Conseil des académies canadiennes, la coordination entre les gouvernements et les disciplines est essentielle au maintien de cette position de leader. C'est exactement ce que font les RCE depuis le financement du premier réseau national d'océanographie en 2003.


Les fondements

Le gouvernement du Canada a investi plus de 113 millions de dollars dans le réseau ArcticNet depuis son lancement en 2003. Cela représente le plus important engagement qu'il a pris jusqu'à maintenant pour explorer les retombées sociales, économiques et environnementales du changement climatique et de la modernisation de l'Arctique canadien côtier. Installé à l'Université Laval, à Québec, ce réseau facilite la réalisation de projets multidisciplinaires auxquels participent 145 chercheurs, étudiants, organisations inuites, collectivités nordiques, organismes fédéraux et provinciaux et entreprises du secteur privé. Sa principale plateforme de recherche est le brise-glace NGCC Amundsen.

Il y a un deuxième réseau lié aux océans installé à la Dalhousie University. Le Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network (MEOPAR) favorise l'établissement de partenariats entre des universités, le gouvernement, l'industrie de l'assurance, le secteur pétrolier et gazier, les entreprises de technologie maritime, les collectivités côtières et les organisations non gouvernementales en vue de réduire la vulnérabilité du Canada aux dangers et aux urgences maritimes.

Deux CECR exploitent l'expertise mondiale du Canada en océanographie pour créer des marchés au profit des entreprises canadiennes. L'Ocean Networks Canada Innovation Centre (ONCIC) appuie les possibilités de commercialisation et d'exportation des technologies de pointe élaborées par les observatoires câblés NEPTUNE et VENUS installés sur la côte Ouest du Canada, ainsi que par un mini-observatoire situé dans l'océan Arctique. Le centre Leading Operational Observations and Knowledge for the North (LOOKNorth), installé à St. John (T.-N.-L.), valide des technologies de télédétection et favorise leur commercialisation, afin d'assurer la surveillance de l'environnement et la mise en valeur sûre et durable des ressources naturelles du Nord du Canada.


Accroître la collaboration

Partager l'expertise et gérer en collaboration

  • Les dirigeants d'ArcticNet, de MEOPAR, d'ONCIC et de LOOKNorth ont participé au conseil d'administration de ces quatre organisations et contribué à leur orientation stratégique.
  • Les chercheurs et les intervenants d'ArcticNet, d'ONCIC et de MEOPAR ont été membres du comité d'experts qui a produit le rapport marquant du Conseil des académies canadiennes intitulé Les sciences de la mer au Canada : Relever le défi, saisir l'opportunité (novembre 2013).

Réaliser la recherche en collaboration

  • L'Allemagne et le Canada ont signé une entente en 2012 qui favorise la collaboration entre leurs chercheurs, notamment l'établissement de liens officiels avec ArcticNet et MEOPAR. Parmi les sujets d'intérêt commun, mentionnons le changement climatique, le risque de tsunami et l'exploration des ressources.
  • ONCIC et ArcticNet collaborent à l'élaboration et à la démonstration de technologies canadiennes de calibre mondial qui permettent la surveillance continue en temps réel du milieu marin de l'Arctique.
  • LOOKNorth et ArcticNet ont étudié des fragments qui proviennent de l'immense glacier Petermann du Groenland et qui menacent les plateformes pétrolières situées dans les Grands Bancs au large de Terre-Neuve. LOOKNorth s'est servi des données pour élaborer un modèle de risque aux fins de la déviation et de la détérioration des îles de glace.

Accélérer le transfert des connaissances et la commercialisation

  • Le centre ONCIC offre à l'industrie canadienne une expertise et un accès à l'Ocean Networks Canada Observatory, afin de commercialiser les technologies requises pour élaborer des modèles de risque côtier qui seront utilisés par le réseau MEOPAR, notamment des capteurs sous-marins qui détectent le passage d'un tsunami.
  • Le centre ONCIC organise des missions commerciales internationales pour lancer de nouvelles technologies dans les marchés en croissance comme le Brésil, la Chine et l'Inde ainsi que pour établir des collaborations entre des universités et l'industrie auxquelles participeront ArcticNet et MEOPAR.

En tant que partenaire d'AtlantOS, MEOPAR peut aider à élaborer et à promouvoir une stratégie entièrement canadienne pour les partenariats et la collaboration avec des groupes internationaux. Il fera également en sorte que les capacités et les priorités canadiennes sont représentées dans le cadre de cet important effort de recherche internationale.

– Doug Wallace, directeur scientifique, MEOPAR

En collaborant avec d'autres réseaux, nous pouvons rapidement recevoir un plus large éventail de renseignements sur les besoins pour orienter nos efforts et contribuer à la promotion des résultats auprès d'un plus grand nombre d'utilisateurs. Ceci nous permet de passer des besoins aux solutions opérationnelles plus rapidement que si nous travaillions de manière isolée.

– William Jefferies, directeur administratif, LOOKNorth

Chacun des trois réseaux est naturellement axé sur une expertise différente de l'un des trois océans du Canada. Ce contexte offre des possibilités de collaboration entre les trois réseaux. De tels partenariats transcontinentaux contribuent à réduire la fragmentation de l'océanographie au Canada.

– Louis Fortier, directeur scientifique, ArcticNet