Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Tackling national challenges at the local level

India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC-IMPACTS)

 This story is taken from the NCE anniversary report "Building on 25 Years of R&D Excellence."

IC-IMPACTS helped Sanghvi Industries in Nagpur to use a waste by-product (fly-ash) from Nagpur’s thermal power plants to make a higher performing, low-carbon cement replacement for new infrastructure builds in Nagpur.


The challenges

The availability of safe drinking water, sustainable infrastructure and good public health practices are complex global issues that require multiple stakeholders and scientific disciplines to come up with solutions that are cost-effective and sustainable.


The opportunities

Canada and India share strong bilateral ties, including a well-established history of research collaborations. At the same time, India’s government has made public-private partnerships a priority to deal with an infrastructure deficit that compromises public health and economic growth. This opens opportunities for technology sharing, professional development and partnerships with Canada.


What IC-IMPACTS is doing right

The centre and its partners are developing and implementing community-based solutions to the most urgent needs of Canada and India: poor water quality, unsafe and unsustainable infrastructure, and poor health from water-borne and infectious diseases. Under IC-IMPACTS leadership, researchers, industry innovators, community organizations and government agencies work collaboratively to develop and test local solutions that can be scaled up across India and Canada. The centre also provides training and professional development to address critical skills shortages. Here’s how they’re doing it:

  • Good governance and management: Senior representatives from both the public and private sectors are represented on IC-IMPACTS’ Board of Directors. Equity, transparency and accountability are overseen by a Research Management Committee. A Community Advisory Board and committees are being struck to oversee commercialization and training. To ramp-up operations faster, IC-IMPACTS appointed an interim board of directors to set up its governance and management structure.
  • Aligning research with partner needs: Before any projects are funded, IC-IMPACTS hosts workshops to identify research priorities for each partner community. It also helped bring Canadian partners such as Starmass Environment Technologies and Stantec Inc. of Ottawa to India, where they are working on infrastructure projects with several Indian companies.

    Since launching in March 2013, IC-IMPACTS has linked with partner communities in India (Nagpur, Faridkot/Bathinda Region and villages near Thondebavi) and in Canada (Hamlet of Pangnirtung, NU and Dene Tha’, Alberta).
  • Training innovation leaders: The centre’s hands-on research, curriculum development and professional training will help turn more than 700 students, researchers and professional practitioners into innovation leaders. IC-IMPACTS partnered with FOSROC (India) Chemicals Ltd. to hold a professional training program in India for over 50 practising engineers and consultants. It also works with India’s National Institute of Technology and Mitacs to engage interns in both countries.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

S'attaquer à des défis nationaux à l'échelle locale

India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC-IMPACTS)

 Cet article provient du rapport sur le 25e anniversaire des RCE, « Forts de 25 années d’excellence en R et D ».

Le centre IC-IMPACTS a aidé Sanghvi Industries (Nagpur) à utiliser les sous-produits des centrales thermiques de Nagpur (cendres volantes) pour fabriquer un ciment plus performant à faible teneur en carbone qui servira à construire la nouvelle infrastructure dans cette ville.

Les défis

La disponibilité d'une eau potable, la durabilité de l'infrastructure et l'application de pratiques de santé publique saines sont des questions mondiales complexes qui nécessitent l'intervention de nombreux intervenants et scientifiques de diverses disciplines pour trouver des solutions rentables et durables.


Les possibilités

Le Canada et l'Inde ont de solides liens bilatéraux, notamment une relation de collaboration en recherche de longue date. Parallèlement, le gouvernement de l'Inde a donné la priorité aux partenariats publics-privés pour combler son déficit en infrastructure qui compromet la santé publique et la croissance économique. Cela crée des possibilités d'échange technologique, de perfectionnement professionnel et d'établissement de partenariats avec le Canada.


Les réussites du centre IC‑IMPACTS

Le centre et ses partenaires élaborent et mettent en oeuvre des solutions communautaires pour régler les problèmes les plus urgents du Canada et de l'Inde : mauvaise qualité de l'eau, infrastructure non sécuritaire et non durable et mauvais état de santé en raison de maladies d'origine hydrique et de maladies infectieuses. Sous la direction du centre IC-IMPACTS, des chercheurs, des innovateurs industriels, des organisations communautaires et des organismes gouvernementaux travaillent en collaboration à l'élaboration et à la mise à l'essai de solutions locales qui peuvent être appliquées dans l'ensemble de l'Inde et du Canada. En outre, le centre offre de la formation et du perfectionnement professionnel pour s'attaquer à la pénurie de compétences essentielles. Voici comment il procède.

  • Saine gouvernance et saine gestion : Le conseil d'administration du centre IC-IMPACTS compte des dirigeants du secteur public et du secteur privé. Le Comité de gestion de la recherche surveille l'équité, la transparence et la reddition de comptes. Un conseil consultatif communautaire et des comités surveillent la commercialisation et la formation. Pour accélérer les choses, le centre IC-IMPACTS a nommé un conseil d'administration provisoire pour mettre en place la structure de gouvernance et de gestion.
  • Alignement de la recherche sur les besoins des partenaires : Avant de financer un projet, le centre IC-IMPACTS organise des ateliers afin de cerner les priorités en recherche de chaque communauté partenaire. En outre, il a aidé des partenaires canadiens tels que Starmass Environment Technologies et Stantec Inc. d'Ottawa à se rendre en Inde pour travailler à des projets d'infrastructure avec plusieurs entreprises indiennes.

    Depuis son lancement en mars 2013, le centre IC-IMPACTS a établi des liens avec des collectivités partenaires de l'Inde (Nagpur, région de Faridkot et Bathinda, et villages près de Thondebavi) et du Canada (hameau de Pangnirtung, au Nunavut, et Dene Tha'en Alberta).
  • Formation de leaders de l'innovation : Grâce aux travaux de recherche pratique réalisés par le centre, à l'élaboration d'un programme et à la formation professionnelle, plus de 700 étudiants, chercheurs et professionnels deviendront des leaders de l'innovation. Le centre IC-IMPACTS a établi un partenariat avec FOSROC Chemicals Ltd. (Inde) pour offrir un programme de formation professionnelle à plus de 50 ingénieurs et consultants de l'Inde. En outre, il travaille avec le National Institute of Technology de l'Inde et Mitacs pour que des stagiaires soient engagés dans les deux pays.