Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Building Canada’s Strengths: Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

Canada's productivity depends on greater adoption of ICTs

 This story is taken from the NCE anniversary report "Building on 25 Years of R&D Excellence."

ICT has grown faster than the overall Canadian economy over the past five years, created 32,000 jobs between 2011 and 2012, and performed 33% of all private sector research and development in 2012. Yet to remain competitive, Canada needs to connect innovative firms to sales opportunities globally, promote linkages between firms to advance business-to-business market opportunities, and leverage government investments to benefit hundreds of small and medium sized firms.


Building blocks

ICT is one of Canada’s most innovative sectors, and a priority area for the federal government and for NCE programs. In 2009, the NCE funded the Graphics, Animation and New Media (GRAND) Network, which supports a broad range of multidisciplinary digital media research and innovation spanning 27 universities. GRAND addresses complex issues in digital media and transforms multidisciplinary research into user-centred solutions.

Also launched in 2009, the Canadian Digital Media Network (CDMN) connects Canadian technology companies to a national network of 28 digital media acceleration hubs. It produces Canada’s biggest digital media forum (Canada 3.0), strengthens regional ecosystems and solidifies Canada’s position in the global digital media ecosystem.

Wavefront received CECR funding in 2011 to provide small- and medium-sized wireless companies with access to commercialization resources and market linkages normally beyond their reach. It also connects academic researchers with commercially viable innovations to suitable industry partners. This approach to commercialization strengthens domestic collaboration, grows companies and creates jobs.


Taking collaboration to the next level

Shared expertise and collaborative governance

  • The leaders of Wavefront, GRAND and CDMN collaborate on an operational level by serving on each other’s boards of directors and contributing their strategic advice.
  • Key partners, such as the Chairman of OpenText Corporation and Chief Technology Officer of Christie Digital Systems Canada Inc., sit on both the GRAND and CDMN boards, as do the President of OCAD University and Vice-President Research of Wilfrid Laurier University.

Accelerating commercialization

  • CDMN and Wavefront participate in GRAND’s ongoing industry workshop series, which connects entrepreneurs to university researchers involved in a broad spectrum of digital media application areas. Similarly, GRAND researchers have a wealth of opportunities to take part in networking and discussion forums at these commercialization centres.

Knowledge translation and networking opportunities

  • GRAND and CDMN hosted a Brazilian delegation at the 2012 Canada 3.0 conference that led to the creation of the Brazil-Canada 3.0 conference, held in 2012 and again in 2013. This is Canada’s main international summit devoted to boosting ICT cooperation with Brazil.
  • In 2013, Wavefront hosted 34 technical and business training events in five provinces, attracting 1,865 attendees. Hands-on training was delivered in person by industry experts as well as academic organizations such as GRAND and Mitacs.
  • CDMN and GRAND are supporting partners of the Wavefront Wireless Summits, which have become the marquee machine-to-machine conference in North America.
  • The inaugural Gamification conference in 2013 hosted by University of Waterloo Stratford Campus was co-sponsored by GRAND and CDMN, and attracted industry and academic professionals interested in human motivation and the power of “gameful” design and digital games.

Wavefront works with its accelerator and association partners across the country to identify and select export ready ICT companies that qualify for Wavefront’s market linkages program, which accelerates their entry into global markets.

– James Maynard, President and CEO, Wavefront

Co-locating our conferences provided a wonderful opportunity for students to talk with potential commercializers of their work, and for faculty members to get ideas from industry about how to focus their research on finding solutions for Canadian organizations engaged in the digital media sector.

– Kellogg Booth, Scientific Director, GRAND

It’s the future employees and prospective employers who really benefit from these collaborations. Companies need skilled individuals who have a creative arts education, along with computer science, business and marketing expertise. That’s a dynamite combination that companies like ours can really benefit from.

– Tom Jenkins, Chair, CDMN Advisory Board; Executive
Chairman and Chief Strategy Officer, Open Text Corp.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Renforcer les atouts du Canada : technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC)

La productivité du Canada repose sur une plus grande adoption des TIC

 Cet article provient du rapport sur le 25e anniversaire des RCE, « Forts de 25 années d’excellence en R et D ».

La croissance économique du secteur des technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC) a été plus rapide que celle de l'économie canadienne dans son ensemble au cours des cinq dernières années. Ce secteur a permis de créer 32 000 emplois entre 2011 et 2012 et a réalisé 33 % de toutes les activités de recherche et développement (R et D) du secteur privé. Mais pour demeurer concurrentiel, le Canada doit relier les entreprises novatrices aux possibilités commerciales mondiales, promouvoir l'établissement de liens d'entreprise à entreprise afin de créer des débouchés commerciaux et tirer profit des investissements faits par le gouvernement dans le secteur pour aider des centaines de petites et moyennes entreprises.


Les fondements

Le secteur des TIC, prioritaire pour le gouvernement fédéral et les programmes des RCE, est un des secteurs les plus novateurs du Canada. En 2009, les RCE ont financé le réseau Graphisme, animation et nouveaux médias (GRAND) qui appuie une vaste gamme d'activités de recherche multidisciplinaire et d'innovation réalisées par 27 universités dans le domaine des médias numériques. Le réseau GRAND s'attaque aux questions complexes liées à ce domaine et transforme la recherche multidisciplinaire en des solutions axées sur l'utilisateur.

Également lancé en 2009, le Canadian Digital Media Network (CDMN) relie les entreprises canadiennes de technologie à un réseau national de 28 centres d'accélération des médias numériques. Il organise le plus gros forum de médias numériques du Canada (Canada 3.0), solidifie les écosystèmes régionaux et renforce la position du Canada dans l'écosystème mondial des médias numériques.

En 2011, le centre Wavefront a reçu des fonds du Programme des CECR pour donner aux petites et moyennes entreprises des technologies sans fil un accès à des ressources et à des liens en commercialisation qui ne sont habituellement pas à leur portée. En outre, il permet à des chercheurs universitaires qui ont des innovations commerciales viables à proposer de rencontrer des partenaires industriels pertinents. Cette stratégie de commercialisation améliore la collaboration nationale, la croissance des entreprises et la création d'emplois.


Accroître la collaboration

Partager l'expertise et gérer en collaboration

  • Les dirigeants des centres Wavefront et CDMN et du réseau GRAND collaborent sur le plan opérationnel en participant au conseil d'administration de ces trois organisations et en donnant des conseils stratégiques.
  • Des partenaires importants, par exemple le président d'OpenText Corporation et le dirigeant principal de la technologie de Christie Digital Systems Canada Inc., sont membres du conseil d'administration du réseau GRAND et du centre CDMN tout comme le recteur de l'Ontario College of Art & Design University et le vice-recteur à la recherche de la Wilfrid Laurier University.

Accélérer la commercialisation

  • Le CDMN et Wavefront participent à la série d'ateliers industriels offerts en permanence par le réseau GRAND. Ces ateliers visent à établir des liens entre les entrepreneurs et les chercheurs universitaires qui participent à un large éventail de travaux sur les applications des médias numériques. De même, ces CECR offrent aux chercheurs du réseau GRAND de nombreuses possibilités de participer à des forums de réseautage et de discussion.

Possibilités en matière de transfert des connaissances et de réseautage

  • Le réseau GRAND et le CDMN ont accueilli une délégation brésilienne à l'occasion de la conférence Canada 3.0 de 2012, qui a mené à la tenue de la conférence Brésil-Canada 3.0 en 2012 et en 2013. Il s'agit du principal sommet international du Canada qui vise à accroître la collaboration avec le Brésil dans le secteur des TIC.
  • En 2013, le centre Wavefront a organisé 34 activités de formation technique et commerciale dans cinq provinces, qui ont attiré 1 865 participants. Des experts de l'industrie et d'organisations universitaires telles que les réseaux GRAND et Mitacs ont offert une formation pratique en personne.
  • Le CDMN et le réseau GRAND appuient les partenaires des Wavefront Wireless Summits, qui sont devenus les principales conférences sur la communication machine-machine en Amérique du Nord.
  • La première conférence sur la ludification qui a eu lieu au Campus Stratford de la University of Waterloo en 2013 était parrainée par le réseau GRAND et le CDMN. Elle a attiré des professionnels de l'industrie et du milieu universitaire qui s'intéressent à la motivation humaine et à la puissance de la conception « ludique» et des jeux numériques.

Le centre Wavefront collabore avec ses associations et centres d'accélération partenaires dans l'ensemble du pays afin de cerner et de choisir des entreprises des TIC dont les produits ou services sont prêts à être exportés et qui sont admissibles au programme de mise en lien avec les marchés de Wavefront. Ainsi, elles percent plus rapidement les marchés mondiaux.

– James Maynard, président et chef de la direction, Wavefront

La colocalisation de nos conférences a créé des possibilités extraordinaires : les étudiants ont pu parler avec des entreprises aptes à commercialiser leurs travaux, et les professeurs ont pu demander à l'industrie comment cibler les travaux sur la recherche de solutions pour le secteur canadien des médias numériques.

– Kellogg Booth, directeur scientifique, réseau GRAND

Ce sont les futurs employés et les éventuels employeurs qui profitent véritablement de ces collaborations. Les entreprises ont besoin de travailleurs qui ont une formation en arts créatifs, mais aussi une expertise en informatique, en commerce et en marketing. Cette combinaison explosive peut réellement aider des entreprises telles que la nôtre.

– Tom Jenkins, président, Conseil consultatif du CDMN; président exécutif et stratège en chef, Open Text Corp.