Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Stem cell breakthroughs could end shortage of vital blood cells

The Challenge:

Photo: Renee Head, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto

Current stem cell-based cancer treatments, including those for leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma and Hodgkin’s disease, require high-dose chemotherapy followed by an injection of hematopoietic stem cells (commonly known as a bone marrow transplant) back into the patient in order to restore his or her blood system. An individual’s own stem cells may be used, or in some cases a donor’s, but the numbers are often insufficient to be effective. As a result, many patients are deprived of access to such therapies and do not survive.

How one NCE is helping:

The Stem Cell Network has been supporting research on this problem since 2001, and now a breakthrough could be close at hand. Network researchers have identified several genes, proteins, small molecules and culture methods that enable human blood cells to be expanded in the laboratory. Clinical studies are projected to begin in 2014 at the Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital in Montreal, the Vancouver General Hospital and the University of Toronto, with the expectation that patients will see improvements as a direct result of these new techniques.

What the experts are saying:

If we had the ability to expand stem cells in the lab then we could significantly expand the use of umbilical cord blood as an alternative to finding a suitable donor or using a patient’s own stem cells. There are thousands of people in North America who would have transplantation become accessible to them if we could expand these cells.

- Dr. Guy Sauvageau, SCN researcher and CEO and Scientific Director, Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer, University of Montreal

The Stem Cell Network’s unwavering support for the cell expansion project has spring-boarded the work from a basic discovery to the threshold of clinical trials. It is destined to become one of the Stem Cell Network’s greatest legacies: since 2001, more than 14 different researchers and their labs from across the country have collaborated and shared their expertise in blood expansion, all with the shared goal of improving the health of patients in Canada and abroad.

- Dr. Michael Rudnicki, SCN Scientific Director 

In this important area of research, Canada ranks among the world’s best. The outstanding work in blood expansion is a testament to the leadership of these research teams and the Stem Cell Network. I have great hope for major advances that will have profound impacts on treating blood disease.

- Dr. George Daley, Harvard Medical School and past president, International Society for Stem Cell Research

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Des percées dans le domaine des cellules souches pourraient mettre fin à la pénurie de cellules sanguines vitales

Photo : Renee Head, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto

Le défi :

Actuellement, les cancérothérapies à base de cellules souches – utilisées notamment pour la leucémie, les lymphomes, les myélomes et la maladie de Hodgkin – nécessitent des traitements de chimiothérapie à doses élevées, qui sont suivis d’une injection de cellules souches hématopoïétiques dans le patient (processus mieux connu sous le nom de greffe de moelle osseuse), afin de remettre en état le système sanguin. Il est possible d’utiliser les cellules souches du patient ou, dans certains cas, celles d’un donneur, mais leur nombre est souvent insuffisant pour qu’elles soient efficaces. En conséquence, de nombreux patients n’ont pas accès à ces thérapies et ne survivent pas à leur maladie.

L’aide d’un RCE :

Le Réseau des cellules souches appuie depuis 2001 les travaux de recherche visant à régler ce problème, et une solution novatrice pourrait bien être à portée de main. Les chercheurs de ce réseau ont repéré plusieurs gènes, protéines, petites molécules et méthodes de culture qui permettent de multiplier en laboratoire les cellules sanguines humaines. Les études cliniques devraient commencer en 2014 à l’hôpital Maisonneuve‑Rosemont de Montréal, au Vancouver General Hospital et à la University of Toronto. On s’attend à ce que ces nouvelles techniques améliorent les cancérothérapies au profit des patients.

Ce qu’en disent les experts

Si nous pouvons multiplier les cellules souches en laboratoire, nous pourrons avoir recours beaucoup plus au sang ombilical plutôt que de chercher un donneur compatible ou que d’utiliser les cellules souches du patient. Si nous pouvons multiplier ces cellules, des milliers de patients en Amérique du Nord auront accès à la transplantation.

- Guy Sauvageau, chercheur au Réseau des cellules souches et chef de la direction et directeur scientifique de l’Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie de l’Université de Montréal

Grâce à l’aide inconditionnelle qu’a apportée le Réseau de cellules souches au projet de multiplication des cellules, les travaux de recherche fondamentale sont passés à l’étape des essais cliniques. Ces résultats pourraient bien devenir l’un des principaux legs du Réseau de cellules souches : depuis 2001, plus de 14 chercheurs de l’ensemble du pays et leur équipe de laboratoire collaborent et échangent leur expertise en multiplication des cellules sanguines, et tous le font dans le but commun d’améliorer la santé des patients au Canada et ailleurs.

- Michael Rudnicki, directeur scientifique du Réseau de cellules souches

Dans cet important domaine de recherche, le Canada se classe parmi les meilleurs du monde. Les travaux exceptionnels sur la multiplication des cellules sanguines témoignent du leadership de ces équipes de chercheurs et du Réseau de cellules souches. J’ai bon espoir que des progrès majeurs se produiront et auront des retombées profondes sur le traitement des hémopathies.

- George Daley, Harvard Medical School et ancien président de l’International Society for Stem Cell Research