Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Start-up to bring affordable desalination and clean water to global markets

The challenge:

Dr. Philip Jessop

Dr. Philip Jessop

(Photo: Greg Black, Queen’s University)

Dr. Philip Jessop is a green chemistry superstar who creates new processes with the potential to eliminate pollution, desalinate water and save manufacturers money. But there is a long, challenging road between success in the lab and success in the marketplace. As a result, too many promising technologies make for stellar scientific papers that never translate into marketable solutions.

How one CECR is responding:

Dr. Jessop’s latest breakthrough was a process that can increase or decrease the salinity of a salt solution. GreenCentre Canada saw the potential to build on this process to create an affordable, energy-efficient and sustainable desalination process. Its hands-on approach to commercialization included: testing and validating the technology; assessing its cost benefits to quantitatively demonstrate a business opportunity; protecting the intellectual property; and connecting with potential investors. That sweat equity paid off in 2012 with the launch of Forward Water Technologies, and the signing of a multinational water technology company as its first investor.

“Having all these competencies under one roof is unique to GreenCentre. We have cross-functioning teams that work in tandem so that we can constantly refine the financial model, improve our communications collateral around it, and polish the business plan so we can take it to markets and capitalize the company. We put meat on the bones of a good discovery. That’s our secret sauce.”
Dr. Rui Resendes, Executive Director, GreenCentre Canada

What our partners are saying:

“There are many practical issues that have to be overcome before turning a lab-bench discovery into an accepted industrial process. That’s where GreenCentre Canada comes in. They have proven experience in developing these technologies into real business opportunities. They did it with Forward Water Technologies and they did it with Switchable Solutions Inc., which was also based on my research.”
Dr. Philip Jessop, Canada Research Chair in Green Chemistry, Queen’s University, and Technical Director, GreenCentre Canada

“Our company’s rapid development is a testament to the value of GreenCentre’s business model. The centre helped move Switchable Solutions from the pure research stage to the applied development stage. In 2012, Switchable Solutions partnered with leading firms in the energy sector to accelerate development of its ground-breaking solvent technology, which aims to provide a less expensive, energy-efficient and environmentally friendly alternative for extracting bitumen from oil sands. We have completed equity, debt and grant financings enabling several applications within the energy sector to be developed.  Our commercial, technical and financial achievements were recently recognized by Corporate Knights Inc., who named Switchable Solutions one of Canada’s top 10 promising clean tech start-ups.”
Mark Badger, President and CEO, Switchable Solutions

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Une nouvelle entreprise lance des technologies abordables de dessalement et d’assainissement de l’eau sur les marchés mondiaux

Le défi :

Philip Jessop

Philip Jessop

(Photo : Greg Black, Queen’s University)

Philip Jessop est une grande vedette de la chimie verte. Il crée des procédés qui peuvent éliminer la pollution, dessaler l’eau et réduire les coûts des fabricants. Mais la route entre la réussite en laboratoire et la réussite sur le marché est longue et périlleuse. C’est pourquoi de trop nombreuses technologies prometteuses font l’objet d’excellentes communications scientifiques, mais ne se transforment jamais en solutions commercialisables.

La réponse d’un CECR :

La plus récente percée de M. Jessop est un procédé qui peut augmenter ou diminuer la salinité d’une solution. L’équipe de GreenCentre Canada a pensé s’inspirer de ce procédé pour créer un procédé de dessalement abordable, éconergétique et durable. Voici des activités concrètes qu’elle a réalisées pour contribuer à la commercialisation du procédé : tester et valider la technologie; évaluer sa rentabilité pour démontrer quantitativement le débouché commercial; protéger la propriété intellectuelle; et communiquer avec d’éventuels investisseurs. Ce travail a donné des résultats en 2012 : le lancement de l’entreprise Forward Water Technologies et la participation d’une multinationale de technologie de l’eau comme premier investisseur dans l’entreprise.

« Le regroupement de toutes ces compétences sous un même toit est une caractéristique unique de GreenCentre. Nous avons des équipes interfonctionnelles qui travaillent en tandem, afin que nous puissions constamment perfectionner le modèle financier, améliorer les communications connexes et peaufiner le plan d’affaires. Nous pouvons ainsi commercialiser les résultats de la recherche et financer l’entreprise. Nous ajoutons de la substance à une bonne découverte. C’est le secret de notre réussite. »
Rui Resendes, directeur exécutif, GreenCentre Canada

Ce qu’en disent nos partenaires :

« Il faut régler de nombreuses questions concrètes avant de transformer une découverte faite en laboratoire en un procédé industriel accepté. C’est là qu’intervient GreenCentre Canada. L’équipe de ce centre a prouvé qu’elle est en mesure de transformer ces technologies en véritables débouchés commerciaux. Elle l’a fait pour Forward Water Technologies et pour Switchable Solutions Inc., dont la création est également issue de mes travaux de recherche. »
Philip Jessop, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en chimie verte de la Queen’s University et directeur technique de GreenCentre Canada

« L’expansion rapide de notre entreprise témoigne de l’importance du modèle opérationnel de GreenCentre. Le centre a aidé Switchable Solutions à passer de l’étape de la recherche pure à l’étape du développement appliqué. En 2012, notre entreprise a établi un partenariat avec des entreprises importantes du secteur de l’énergie, afin d’accélérer le développement de sa technologie révolutionnaire relative à un solvant qui offre une solution plus abordable, éconergétique et écologique pour extraire le bitume des sables bitumineux. Nous avons trouvé du financement par actions, par emprunt et par subvention pour développer plusieurs applications destinées au secteur de l’énergie. Nos réalisations commerciales, techniques et financières ont récemment été louangées par Corporate Knights Inc., qui a classé Switchable Solutions parmi les dix nouvelles entreprises de technologie propre les plus prometteuses du Canada. »
Mark Badger, président et chef de la direction, Switchable Solutions