Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

New evidence helps Canada prepare for a changing Arctic

Representatives from Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the ArcticNet research network

Representatives from Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the ArcticNet research network at the Nov. 29, 2012 release of the report, "Nunavik and Nunatsiavut: From Science to Policy, An Integrated Regional Impact Study of Climate Change and Modernization."

(Photo courtesy of ArcticNet)

The challenge:

Reductions in sea-ice have been felt for some time by hunters who rely on marine animals for sustenance. Unique habitat and fauna have been impacted. On land, melting permafrost is impacting transportation, buildings and other infrastructure. Less ice will likely lead to more shipping and resource development, with possible consequences for environmental sustainability, Canadian sovereignty and security. Local, territorial and federal governments need evidence on the extent of these changes and expert advice on how to respond to improve the quality of life, safeguard the environment and facilitate sustainable development in a warming Arctic.

How ArcticNet is helping:

Following years of research and consultation with community and government leaders, ArcticNet released the most extensive study ever undertaken on the impacts of climate change and modernization in the regions of Nunavik and Nunatsiavut. The 300-page Integrated Regional Impact Study provides plain language, evidence-based options to help local communities—which are at the centre of impacts from climate change—and other levels of government address issues related to human health, safety and security, vulnerability of infrastructure and the need to protect ecosystems from the impacts of these changes.

The collapse of the layer of permafrost, shown in red, in 1998 in Salluit eventually led to the relocation of 20 houses.

The collapse of the layer of permafrost, shown in red, in 1998 in Salluit eventually led to the relocation of 20 houses.

(Photo courtesy of ArcticNet)

What community stakeholders are saying:

“This study is a great tool to express our needs and we should get together with our northern neighbours of Nunatsiavut to work as a team when the project is launched in Quebec City to make sure that it gets the attention it deserves. This work will also help us in our community consultations as we continue to develop Parnasimautik (Plan Nunavik).”
Maggie Emudluk, Chair, Kativik Regional Government

“The ArcticNet Integrated Regional Impact Study presents a unique foundation for synthesizing research through integrated, co-managed projects that are meaningful to Nunatsiavut and the Arctic community as a whole, while allowing the region to continue to evaluate and expand existing studies, with a focus on the health and well-being of Labrador Inuit.”
Johannes Lampe, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Nunatsiavut Government

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

De nouvelles données aident le Canada à se préparer à la transformation de l’Arctique

Representatives from Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the ArcticNet research network

Des représentants du Nunavik, du Nunatsiavut et du réseau de recherche ArcticNet assistent à la diffusion, le 29 novembre 2012, du rapport intitulé Politique de la science aux politiques publiques au Nunavik et au Nunatsiavut, une étude intégrée d’impact régional des changements climatiques et de la modernisation.

(Photo gracieusement fournie par ArcticNet)

Le défi :

Depuis un certain temps déjà, les chasseurs qui dépendent des mammifères marins pour assurer leur subsistance ressentent les effets de la diminution de la couverture de glace de mer. Des habitats et une faune à caractère unique ont été perturbés. Par ailleurs, la fonte du pergélisol a des effets sur le transport, les bâtiments et d’autres infrastructures. La diminution de la glace entraînera probablement un accroissement du transport maritime et de la mise en valeur des ressources, ce qui pourrait avoir des répercussions sur la durabilité de l’environnement et la souveraineté et la sécurité du Canada. Les administrations locales et les gouvernements territoriaux et fédéral ont besoin de données sur l’étendue de ces changements et d’avis d’experts sur la façon d’y réagir, afin d’améliorer la qualité de vie, de protéger l’environnement et de favoriser le développement durable dans l’Arctique qui se réchauffe.

L’aide apportée par ArcticNet :

Après des années de recherche et de consultations auprès de dirigeants communautaires et gouvernementaux, ArcticNet a publié le rapport le plus approfondi jamais réalisé sur les répercussions du changement climatique et de la modernisation dans les régions du Nunavik et du Nunatsiavut. Le rapport de 300 pages d’une étude intégrée d’impact régional propose en langage simple des options basées sur des données afin d’aider les communautés locales – qui sont les plus touchées par les répercussions du changement climatique – et les autres ordres de gouvernement à régler les questions liées à la santé, à la sûreté et à la sécurité de la population, à la vulnérabilité de l’infrastructure et à la nécessité de protéger les écosystèmes des répercussions de ces changements.

The collapse of the layer of permafrost, shown in red, in 1998 in Salluit eventually led to the relocation of 20 houses.

L’affaissement de la couche de pergélisol, indiqué en rouge, qui s’est produit en 1998 à Salluit a nécessité le déplacement de 20 maisons.

(Photo gracieusement fournie par ArcticNet)

Ce qu’en disent les intervenants de la communauté

« Ce rapport est un moyen formidable d’exprimer nos besoins, et nous devrions nous associer à nos voisins nordiques du Nunatsiavut pour travailler en équipe lorsque le projet sera lancé à Québec, afin qu’il reçoive l’attention qu’il mérite. En outre, ces travaux nous aideront à poursuivre nos consultations communautaires alors que nous continuons d’élaborer le Parnasimautik (Plan Nunavik). »
Maggie Emudluk, présidente, administration régionale Kativik

« L’étude intégrée d’impact régional apporte un fondement unique pour faire la synthèse de la recherche réalisée dans le cadre de projets cogérés et intégrés qui sont pertinents pour le Nunatsiavut et l’ensemble de la communauté arctique. En outre, il permettra à la région de continuer à évaluer et à approfondir les études actuelles en mettant l’accent sur la santé et le bien‑être des Inuits du Labrador. »
Johannes Lampe, ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et des Loisirs, gouvernement du Nunatsiavut