Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Centre legacy: Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise - PREVENT

Funded 2008-2017

This link will take you to another Web site www.prevent-cecr.ca


SCN

NCE contributions
$15 million

Number of partners
8

Partner contributions
$18 million

Headquarters
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Fast-tracking the development of life-saving vaccines

Despite Canada’s global leadership in vaccine discovery, early-stage vaccine technologies emerging from our academic institutions and biotech companies are often stalled in preclinical and early clinical development due to insufficient funding and significant risk of failure. Canada has capacity within its academic institutions to conduct pre-clinical and early phase animal studies but the resources are spread across the country. In 2008, Canada took steps to leverage this dispersed infrastructure and expertise to fast-track veterinary and human vaccine development for diseases of major public health concern, and to address the commercialization challenges faced by Canada’s biotechnology industry.

In 2008, the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization (VIDO) (Saskatoon), the Canadian Center for Vaccinology (Halifax) and the BC Centre for Disease Control (Vancouver) pooled their expertise and resources to create the Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise (PREVENT). PREVENT conducted animal studies and proof-of-concept clinical trials for promising early-stage vaccine candidates that were stalled in development at academic research organizations and biotech companies. By lowering the risks, sharing the costs and adding significant value at critical stages of vaccine development, PREVENT was able to license out the rights of high-priority vaccine products to industry partners for late-stage clinical trials and commercialization.


Among the results

  • By working with Vaxent and the University of Tennessee Health Science Centre, PREVENT initiated a Group A Streptococcus (GAS) vaccine Phase I clinical trial in September 2015. The availability of a sage and effective multi-valent GAS vaccine could address a huge unmet public health demand, preventing a wide variety of potentially life-threatening complications and diseases in humans worldwide attributable to this organism.
  • PREVENT completed a Phase 1 clinical trial of a seasonal flu vaccine (PAL-FLU) and gathered data from the trial to provide a fertile ground for generating evidence regarding safety, tolerability and immune response.
  • The elk challenge study for the Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) vaccine conducted at VIDO-InterVac was completed in June 2015. PREVENT also demonstrated that the vaccine is capable of inducing a robust antibody response in mice, sheep and cervids, and could be effective against Bovine Spongiform encephalopathy in cattle, scrapie in sheep and Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease in humans.
  • PREVENT and VIDO-International Vaccine Centre (VIDO-InterVac Saskatoon) signed a collaborative agreement with the South China United Vaccine Institute and the Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Disease to jointly develop a Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) vaccine that could be used in a combination product for influenza, Parainfluenza 3 and whooping cough.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Legs du Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise - PREVENT

Financé de 2001 à 2017

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web www.prevent-cecr.ca


PREVENT

Contribution des RCE
15 millions de dollars

Nombre de partenaires
8

Contributions des partenaires
18 millions de dollars

Siège social
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Accélérer le développement de vaccins qui sauvent des vies

Bien que le Canada soit un chef de file mondial de la découverte de vaccins, la progression des nouveaux vaccins issus des universités et des entreprises de biotechnologie ralentit souvent à l’étape préclinique et au début du développement clinique en raison du financement insuffisant et du risque d’échec important. Au sein de ses établissements universitaires, le Canada a la capacité de réaliser les études précliniques et les premières étapes des études sur les animaux, mais les ressources sont dispersées dans l’ensemble du pays. En 2008, le Canada a pris des mesures pour exploiter cette infrastructure et cette expertise dispersées afin d’accélérer le développement de vaccins à usage vétérinaire et à usage humain pour des maladies qui représentent une préoccupation importante sur le plan de la santé publique et de régler les problèmes de commercialisation auxquels est confrontée l’industrie canadienne de la biotechnologie.

En 2008, la Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization (VIDO, Saskatoon), le Canadian Center for Vaccinology (Halifax) et le British Columbia Centre for Disease Control (Vancouver) ont réuni leur expertise et leurs ressources pour créer la Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise (PREVENT). Celle-ci réalise des études sur les animaux et des essais cliniques de validation de principe pour les nouveaux vaccins candidats prometteurs dont le développement, entrepris dans les organisations de recherche universitaires et les entreprises de biotechnologie, stagnait. En réduisant les risques, en partageant les couts et en ajoutant une valeur importante aux étapes cruciales du développement des vaccins, PREVENT a été en mesure d’octroyer sous licence les droits des vaccins hautement prioritaires à des partenaires industriels qui se chargeront des essais cliniques de phase avancée et de la commercialisation.


Quelques résultats

  • Travaillant avec Vaxent et le Health Sciences Centre de la University of Tennessee, PREVENT a lancé un essai clinique de phase 1 sur un vaccin contre le streptocoque du groupe A (SGA) en septembre 2015. Un vaccin contre le SGA efficace et polyvalent permettrait de répondre à la demande mondiale largement insatisfaite en matière de santé publique et de prévenir une grande variété de complications et de maladies parfois mortelles chez les humains qui sont causées par le SGA.
  • PREVENTA a terminé l’essai clinique de phase 1 sur un vaccin contre la grippe saisonnière (PAL-FLU) et recueilli des données provenant de l’essai clinique pour constituer un riche bassin de données qui permettra de mettre en évidence les éléments probants concernant l’innocuité et la tolérabilité du vaccin et la réaction immunitaire au vaccin.
  • L’étude de provocation sur des wapitis pour le vaccin contre la maladie débilitante chronique (MDC), qui a été menée dans les installations de VIDO-InterVac, s’est terminée en juin 2015. PREVENT a démontré que le vaccin est capable d’induire une réponse anticorps vigoureuse chez la souris, le mouton et les cervidés, et qu’il pourrait être efficace contre l’encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine, la tremblante du mouton et la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob chez l’homme.
  • PREVENT et le VIDO-International Vaccine Centre (VIDO-InterVac Saskatoon) ont signé une entente de collaboration avec le South China United Vaccine Institute et le Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Disease afin de développer conjointement un vaccin contre le virus respiratoire syncytial. Ce vaccin pourrait être utilisé dans un produit mixte pour l’influenza, la parainfluenza 3 et la coqueluche.