Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NETWORK LEGACY: Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation - CSii

Funded 2009-17

This link will take you to another Web site www.csii.ca
Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation

NCE contributions
$14.8 million

Number of partners
16

Partner contributions
$28.4 million

Headquarters
Hamilton, Ontario

Applying Canada's expertise in space robotics to medicine


When it comes to space robotics, Canada is an undisputed global leader. The industry has invested more than $2 billion in research and development for more than 30 years, overcoming many of the hurdles associated with automation, image guidance and manoeuvrability. On the medical front, several Canadian universities are top ranked when it comes to developing image-guided therapies. These strengths put Canada in an excellent position to use its expertise to make the medical system more efficient, improve healthcare access in rural and remote areas, and improve patient outcomes by enabling more targeted, less invasive procedures.

Among the results

  • CSii completed development of its Image Guided Automated Robot (IGAR), a generic image-guided robotics platform that will be adopted for several applications, including biopsies and localized cancer treatment. The system can also be operated remotely, enabling radiologists to biopsy and treat patients in remote locations.
  • CSii successfully developed and manufactured its first clinical system – the IGAR Breast Robot – which allows real-time biopsy and therapy of suspected breast lesions in an MRI system, resulting in less pain and faster treatment. CSii is partnering with MDA to manufacture the system in Canada, and has initiated a startup for global sales and distribution. Commercial release is planned for 2017.
  • CSii is working with IBM’s Watson Collaborative Group and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) to develop the next generation of IGAR: an autonomous robotic system capable of diagnosing, planning and executing medical diagnostic and therapeutic actions. CSii is also working with the CSA to develop telerobotic capabilities for IGAR technology that will improve access to health care for Canadians living in remote parts of the country.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

LEGS DE Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation - CSii

Financé de 2009 à 2017

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web www.csii.ca
Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation

Contribution des RCE
14,8 millions de dollars

Nombre de partenaires
16

Contribution des partenaires
28,4 millions de dollars

Siège social
Hamilton (Ontario)

Appliquer l'expertise canadienne en robotique spatiale au domaine de la médecine


Le Canada est un chef de file mondial incontesté de la robotique spatiale. Au cours des 30 dernières années, l’industrie a investi plus de deux milliards de dollars dans la recherche et développement, surmontant de nombreux obstacles associés à l’automatisation, au guidage par l’image et à la manœuvrabilité. Dans le domaine médical, plusieurs universités canadiennes se classent parmi les meilleures pour ce qui est de mettre au point des traitements guidés par l’image. Grâce à ces atouts, le Canada est en excellente position pour utiliser cette expertise en vue d’améliorer l’efficacité du système médical, l’accès aux soins de santé en régions rurales et en régions éloignées et les résultats pour les patients au moyen de procédures plus ciblées et moins invasives.

Quelques résultats

  • Le CSii a terminé le développement de son robot automatisé guidé par l’image (IGAR), système robotique général guidé par l’image qui aura plusieurs applications, dont les biopsies et le traitement localisé du cancer. Le système peut aussi être utilisé à distance, ce qui permet aux radiologues de faire des biopsies et de traiter les patients vivant dans des endroits éloignés.
  • Le CSii a élaboré et fabriqué avec succès son premier système clinique, le robot IGAR pour les seins, lequel permet de faire la biopsie et le traitement en temps réel des lésions suspectes au sein à l’aide de l’imagerie par résonance magnétique, ce qui réduit la douleur et accélère le traitement. Il a établi un partenariat avec MDA pour la fabrication du système au Canada et a lancé une entreprise en démarrage pour assurer la vente et la distribution du système à l’échelle mondiale. Le lancement commercial du système est prévu pour 2017.
  • Le CSii travaille avec le Watson Collaborative Group d’IBM et l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) afin de développer le robot IGAR de prochaine génération : un système robotique autonome capable d’établir un diagnostic et aussi de planifier et d’exécuter un diagnostic médical et des mesures thérapeutiques. Le CSii aussi travaille avec l’ASC afin de développer des capacités télérobotiques pour le robot IGAR qui permettront d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé des Canadiens vivant dans les régions éloignées du pays.