Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health - SCAN Health

$1.6 million for 2017-20
About   |   News

Number of partners
75

Partner contributions
$17,793

Headquarters
University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario

Network Director
Anne Snowdon Anne Snowdon

Board chair
Allan Conway Allan Conway
Former Dean, Odette School of Business (University of Windsor)

Transforming the Supply Chain to Create Safer and Higher Performing Global Health Systems


The Opportunity

One of the greatest challenges facing global healthcare systems is patient safety. Medical error has now become the third leading cause of death in North America, right behind heart disease and cancer. These adverse events are devastating for patients and their families – and they are very costly to the organization and the healthcare system.

Many other industries have improved safety and efficiency by implementing supply chain best practices that track and trace products and processes from manufacturer to the end-user. The lack of strategic supply chain management in the world’s healthcare systems makes it difficult to meet growing patient demands for safe care while improving efficiency, managing costs and achieving value for patients.

Clinical supply chain processes could transform the care delivery environment to ensure that adverse events are much less likely to take place.

How SCAN Health is Seizing the Opportunity

The Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health (SCAN Health) will bring together global supply chain and logistics research and expertise from business schools, industry, clinicians and governments to accelerate adoption of best practices in health systems. This global network spans Canada, the USA, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Australia to mobilize supply chain knowledge, leading to safer and higher performing healthcare environments and realizing value for patients, health system sustainability and economic growth for companies. SCAN Health will develop tools to implement and assess supply chain traceability from manufacturer to individual patient outcomes.

SCAN Health’s Strategic Knowledge Translation Deliverables

  • Business case and design competitions are organized and designed to leverage expertise in supply chain and logistics from business schools and leading industry organizations to address real-world health system challenges. The Design Competitions create a forum for industry to engage with health systems to design the solutions needed to advance supply chain transformation. The Business Case Competitions engage over 35 business schools to mobilize expertise in supply chain and logistics to be applied to health sector business cases of real world supply chain challenges.
  • An online learning platform will enable partners to come together for learning opportunities on key priorities and to profile best practice achievements across the healthcare supply chain. The platform will use online forums, educational programs and tools to engage partners across international borders to accelerate the transformation of health system supply chain into a strategic asset that achieves safer healthcare for Canadians, and populations globally.
  • A Strategic Supply Chain Maturity Scale will support organizations in identifying strategies that strengthen supply chain infrastructure and approaches across health systems. The Strategic Supply Chain Maturity Scale engages health organizations in order to analyze their progress and accomplishments in achieving an effective supply chain strategy. This gives organization and health system leaders the guidance for progressing along the journey towards supply chain transformation. The goal is to advance traceability of products, health care processes and outcomes across global health systems.
  • Annual networking events will broker relationships and knowledge exchange between network stakeholders. These face-to-face gatherings will foster collaboration on supply chain initiatives and projects, and will also create dialogue focused on key challenges and priorities for health systems.

Connect with SCAN Health

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health - SCAN Health

1,6 million de dollars pour 2017-2021

Nombre de partenaires
112

Contributions des partenaires
1,1 million de dollars

Siège social
Université de Windsor, Windsor (Ontario)

Directrice du réseau
Anne Snowdon Anne Snowdon

Président du conseil d’administration
Allan Conway Allan Conway
Ancien doyen, Odette School of Business (University of Windsor)

Transformer la chaine logistique pour accroitre la sécurité et l’efficacité des systèmes de santé dans le monde


L’occasion

La sécurité des patients constitue l’un des plus grands défis des systèmes de santé dans le monde. L’erreur médicale est devenue la troisième cause de décès en Amérique du Nord, après les cardiopathies et le cancer. Les incidents thérapeutiques sont dévastateurs pour les patients et leur famille et de lourdes conséquences pour les organisations et les systèmes de santé.

De nombreux autres secteurs ont amélioré la sécurité et l’efficacité en mettant en œuvre des pratiques exemplaires pour la chaine logistique qui permettent de suivre les produits et les procédés du fabricant jusqu’à l’utilisateur final. En raison de l’absence de gestion stratégique de la chaine logistique dans les systèmes de santé des pays, il est difficile de répondre aux attentes croissantes des patients en matière de soins sécuritaires tout en améliorant l’efficacité, en assurant une bonne gestion des couts et en optimisant les ressources au profit des patients.

Les processus de la chaine logistique du milieu clinique pourraient transformer l’univers des soins de manière à réduire les risques qu’un incident thérapeutique survienne.

Comment SCAN Health saisit l’occasion

Le réseau Supply Chain Advancement Network in Health (réseau SCAN Health) réunira les capacités de recherche et l’expertise en matière de chaine logistique d’écoles de commerce, d’organisations du secteur privé, du milieu clinique et du secteur public de plusieurs pays pour accélérer la mise en œuvre de pratiques exemplaires dans les systèmes de santé. Ce réseau mondial, qui englobe le Canada, les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, les Pays-Bas et l’Australie, vise à mettre à profit les connaissances sur la chaine logistique afin d’améliorer la sécurité et l’efficacité des milieux de soins de santé, d’optimiser les ressources au profit des patients et d’assurer la pérennité du système de santé et la croissance économique des entreprises. Le réseau SCAN Health mettra au point des outils pour mettre en œuvre et mesurer la traçabilité tout au long de la chaine logistique, du fabricant jusqu’au patient, y compris l’effet sur ce dernier.

Quelques résultats

  • SCANHealth concevra et mettra en œuvre un outil d’évaluation de la maturité de la chaine logistique pour permettre aux organisations de santé d’analyser les retombées des stratégies concernant la chaine logistique. L’outil comportera aussi une fonction d’autoévaluation en ligne et une plateforme qui permettra d’échanger et de comparer la progression avec des organisations de santé d’autres pays.
  • SCANHealth a conçu et lancé une plateforme en ligne de mobilisation des connaissances qui décrit les pratiques exemplaires mondiales concernant la chaine logistique du secteur de la santé afin de favoriser l’échange de connaissances et l’établissement de relations entre des organisations partenaires. La plateforme comprend des outils, des pratiques exemplaires et des forums de discussion.
  • SCANHeatlh a lancé un concours virtuel unique d’analyses de rentabilisation pour renforcer la capacité de leadership de la prochaine génération de dirigeants du système de santé. Le concours annuel mobilise des écoles de commerce de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Europe et de l’Australie et s’étend à d’autres régions pour offrir aux étudiants la possibilité de trouver des solutions aux principaux problèmes liés à la chaine logistique des systèmes de santé.
  • En un an, SCANHealth a organisé deux activités internationales de réseautage avec de nombreux intervenants à St. Louis aux États-Unis et à Calgary au Canada. Ces activités annuelles favorisent la collaboration mondiale aux initiatives axées sur la chaine logistique du secteur de la santé et permettent de discuter des principaux défis et priorités des systèmes de santé, de décrire les pratiques exemplaires, d’élaborer un registre mondial des résultats pour les produits et les patients et d’adapter les initiatives axées sur la chaine logistique des différents pays. Des activités auront aussi lieu au Royaume-Uni et en Australie au cours des prochaines années.

Pour en savoir plus sur SCAN Health

 

Nouvelles
Le 20 juin 2019
Le 29 avril 2019
Le 2 avril 2019
Le 14 novembre 2018
Le 18 octobre 2018
Le 14 septembre 2018
Le 19 août 2018
Le 17 juin 2018
Le 14 juin 2018
Le 27 avril 2018
Le 15 février 2018
Le 30 janvier 2018
Le 26 septembre 2017