Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Letter of Intent Guide

Canada-India Research Centre of Excellence (CIRCE)

 Letter of Intent Guide

The Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) Program is a federal initiative administered jointly through the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) in partnership with Industry Canada.

Context

The 2012 CIRCE Competition is comprised of three stages: stage 1) the Notification of Intent (NOI); stage 2) the Letter of intent (LOI); and stage 3) the Full Application (FA). This guide reflects the Letter of Intent stage of the CIRCE competition. The LOI guide MUST be used in conjunction with the NCE Program Guide and the CIRCE Competition Guide.

The NCE Steering Committee invites potential applicants to submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) for the CIRCE Competition. Note that LOIs will only be accepted from individuals who submitted a NOI. The LOI must describe the strategic area(s) that the proposed Centre will address, as well as the proposed Centre’s vision, socioeconomic context, budget and key participants.  It should also summarize how the proposed Network will address the five CIRCE Initiative Criteria as well as the CIRCE Initiative goals and objectives.

Review Criteria

To ensure that the goals and objectives of the CIRCE Initiative are met, proposals are assessed against the five CIRCE review criteria. The CIRCE will be evaluated on a yearly basis during the tenure of the grant against these same criteria. All five CIRCE review criteria are equally weighted; therefore the threshold of excellence must be achieved in each. 

Guidelines for Completing a Letter of Intent

The LOI is composed of two different elements; (1) the LOI application form (PDF form), and (2) the free-form section (10 pages maximum).

Together, the two elements of the LOI provide information on the proposed CIRCE in relation to the goals and objectives of the CIRCE Program and will be used in the screening process to determine which applicants will be invited to submit a Full Application.

The LOI should be submitted on behalf of the proposed Centre by an academic researcher (i.e., the Lead Applicant) who is eligible to receive funding from one of the three federal granting agencies, and by the proposed host institution.

The LOI must be developed in collaboration with relevant stakeholders. Applicants must clearly indicate how the proposed CIRCE will facilitate knowledge exchange between Canada and India in areas of mutual strategic importance.

The Selection Committee will assess the level of integration of the appropriate stakeholders into the Centre’s plan.  Private, public and not-for-profit sector participants should be informed that their level of involvement will be critical to the success of the Centre.

Should multiple LOIs be submitted addressing the same strategic area, the Selection Committee may suggest that those applicants submit a single joint Full Application. 

LOI application form (PDF form)

The LOI application form (fillable PDF format) is available on the NCE Web site at (www.nce-rce.gc.ca/_docs/competitions/CIRCE-CERCI/LOIForm-FormulaireLI_eng.pdf.) 

All sections must be completed:

Section 1: Centre information

  • Title of the proposed Centre (in English and French) and Acronym
  • Host Institution
  • Name, salutation, preferred language of correspondence
  • Position, Institution/Department
  • Address, City, Province, Postal Code at the Institution
  • Phone number, Extension, Email Address
  • List of 10 keywords that best describe the proposed Centre.
  • Signatures of the Lead Applicant and the president or CEO of the host institution

Section 2: Summary for public release

  • In 300 words or less, provide an overview of the proposed Centre.

Section 3: Researchers

List the researchers committed to the Centre’s Research Program, in both  Canada and India.  Provide the researcher’s last name, first name and affiliation. Specify the role and responsibilities of each researcher in the Centre’s Program. (e.g. engineer in scale-up modeling, ethicist for policy development, etc). Finally, estimate the percentage of salaried time that the researcher will spend on the Centre’s activities.

Section 4: Partners

List the partners who will participate in the Centre’s activities, their country, sector (e.g. industry, federal government, provincial government, municipal government, non-governmental organization, non-for-profit organization, etc.) and role (e.g. facilities provider, equipment provider, scientific oversight, etc.).

Section 5: Proposed Centre’s anticipated expenditures

Provide an overview of the expenditures of NCE funds and of non-NCE funds using the categories provided over 5 years. On separate page(s), provide a budget justification, including a description of each line item. Detail the sources of non-NCE funds. Please note that a more detailed budget form will be required at the Full Application stage.

Host Institution Letter of Support (2 pages max)

The letter of support from the proposed host institution should provide an outline of the nature of the anticipated support. The Host Institution will play an important role in the CIRCE through direct support of the administrative centre and by participating in the CIRCE’s governance through ex-officio voting membership on the Board of Directors.

This letter must be signed by the Lead Applicant and the President or CEO of the institution that proposes to host the CIRCE’s administrative centre (i.e., the Host Institution). The signatures on the letter should match the signatures on Section 1 of the Application Form.

Free form (10 pages max)

Use the following sections to describe the proposed CIRCE in 10 pages or less. Any additional pages, text or material will be removed. For the detailed Evaluation Criteria please refer to the CIRCE Competition Guide.

Networking and Partnerships

The Centre will bring together the key individuals and organizations, both in Canada and in India, needed to develop coordinated partnerships to generate social, economic, technological and/or wellness impacts in both countries.

  • Define the strategic area(s) of importance that the CIRCE proposes to address and how it will foster organization-to-organization level relationships and increase researcher-to-researcher collaborations.
  • Summarize the history of partnerships with complementary Indian organization(s). Detail how the CIRCE will help increase Canada’s international visibility as well as the quality of outreach efforts in promoting Canada’s reputation as an international leader in science and technology.
  • Demonstrate how the proposed CIRCE will focus on addressing complex challenges facing both Canadians and Indians from an international, multisectoral and multidisciplinary perspective. 

Knowledge Mobilization and Exchange

The CIRCE will generate benefits to Canada’s and India’s science and technology capabilities and practices as well as downstream economic and social benefits, such as technology, market development and public policy development through the mobilization of research knowledge.

  • Discuss how the CIRCE will engage existing end user communities, and what approaches will be taken to identify and address the knowledge needs of end user communities in both countries.
  • Describe the Centre’s intellectual property (IP) and knowledge mobilization strategy.

Management of the Network

The Centre will possess an appropriate organizational structure for the management of the business functions of a complex multidisciplinary, multi-institutional cost-effective Canada-India endeavour, including research program.

  • Identify the proposed governance and management teams (including but not limited to: the Centre, intellectual property, HQP, KME, and Communications). Define the roles and responsibilities of each key position and identify the proposed incumbent.
  • Discuss the anticipated problem(s), challenge(s) or opportunities for the CIRCE’s internal and external communication strategies in disseminating knowledge, successes and activities to network participants, end users, and the general public.
  • Describe the Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP) Program and the value added by the Centre to mentoring, training opportunities and research exchanges already available.

Excellence of the Research Program

The CIRCE’s administrative Centre will ensure excellence in collaborative research between Canadian and Indian stakeholders through the management of collaboration models. The research program is expected to be multisectoral and multidisciplinary.

  • Provide a brief review of the current state of knowledge in the field, describing any similar research initiatives and their relationship to the CIRCE’s proposed research program.
  • Define the problem(s), challenge(s), or opportunity(ies) that the Network will address.
  • Describe the scope, focus and general objectives of the CIRCE and how the proposed research program will attain those objectives.
  • Detail the added value of the Centre’s multisectoral, multidisciplinary approach to the research program.

General Presentation

The LOI free-form section must be converted to PDF format and merged with the LOI application form (PDF format) in order for it to be submitted as a single electronic document (PDF package).

The LOI free-form section must be prepared according to the following:

  • Page size: 8½ x 11 inches
  • Margins: no less than ¾ of an inch on all sides.
  • Font: Times New Roman (no smaller than 12 pts) or Arial (no smaller than 11 pts). Condensed type is not acceptable.
  • Header: include the title of the Centre at the top of every page
  • All pages consecutively numbered

Graphs and illustrations may be included, but will count as part of the page limits set out above. Either single or double column presentation of text, graphs or illustrations is acceptable.  Any extra material will be removed.

Submission procedures

The deadline for submission of the LOI for the 2012 CIRCE Competition is Thursday, February 23, 2012.  LOIs must be received by 4:30 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. 

Number of Copies   

One unbound original copy and one USB stick with a PDF version of the letter of intent.  

Mailing Address

Networks of Centres of Excellence
CIRCE Competition
16th Floor, mailroom
350 Albert Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 1H5

The NCE Secretariat will confirm receipt within one week.

Contact

For more information, please contact the NCE Program, CIRCE Competition at:

Telephone: 613-995-6010
Fax: 613-992-7356
E-mail: info@nce-rce.gc.ca

Checklist

Each LOI must include the following components in the following order.  The maximum number of pages permitted for each is indicated below. Any additional material will be removed.  Please note that for Sections 3, 4 and Budget justification (Section 5) there is no page limit.  Contact the NCE Secretariat if additional pages in Section 3 and Section 4 are needed.

  • LOI Application Form – Section 1 – Centre information (1 page)
  • LOI Application Form – Section 2 – Summary for public release  (300 words)
  • LOI Application Form – Section 3 – Table of Researchers (unlimited)
  • LOI Application Form – Section 4 – Table of Partners (unlimited)
  • LOI Application Form – Section 5 – Anticipated Expenditures  (1 page)
  • Host Institution Letter of Support (2 pages)
  • Free Form  (10 pages)
    • Networking and Partnerships
    • Knowledge Mobilization Exchange
    • Management of the Network
    • Excellence of the Research Program
  • Budget Justification (unlimited)

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Guide sur la lettre d'intention

Centre d’excellence en recherche Canada-Inde (CERCI)

 Guide sur la lettre d'intention

Le Programme des Réseaux de centres d’excellence (RCE) est une initiative fédérale administrée conjointement par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), en partenariat avec Industrie Canada.

Contexte

Le concours visant à créer un CERCI comporte trois étapes : 1) l’avis d’intention; 2) la lettre d’intention; et 3) la demande. Le présent guide traite de l’étape « Lettre d’intention » du concours visant à créer un CERCI. Le présent guide DOIT être utilisé conjointement avec le Guide du Programme des RCE et le Guide du concours visant à créer un CIRCE.

Le Comité directeur des RCE invite les candidats admissibles à présenter une lettre d’intention dans le cadre du concours visant à créer un CERCI. Il convient de noter que seules les lettres d’intention provenant de personnes ayant présenté un avis d’intention seront acceptées. La lettre d’intention doit décrire les domaines stratégiques que le centre proposé étudiera, ainsi que la vision proposée du centre, le contexte socioéconomique, le budget et les principaux participants. De plus, la lettre doit expliquer brièvement comment le réseau proposé répondra aux cinq critères de l’initiative du CERCI et comment il contribuera à l’atteinte des buts et des objectifs de l’initiative.

Critères d’évaluation

Pour assurer l’atteinte des buts et des objectifs de l’initiative du CERCI, les demandes sont évaluées en fonction des cinq critères d’examen du CERCI. Le CERCI sera évalué chaque année pendant la période de validité de la subvention en fonction des mêmes critères. Comme les cinq critères d’évaluation du CERCI ont la même pondération, le niveau d’excellence doit être atteint pour chacun.

Lignes directrices sur la préparation d’une lettre d’intention

La lettre d’intention comprend deux parties : 1) le formulaire de lettre d’intention (en format PDF); et 2) la section en formule libre (dix pages au plus).

Ensemble, les deux éléments de la lettre d’intention fournissent des renseignements sur le CERCI proposé relativement aux buts et aux objectifs de l’initiative du CERCI et ils seront utilisés dans le processus de présélection pour déterminer quels candidats seront invités à présenter une demande.

La lettre d’intention devrait être présentée au nom du centre proposé par un chercheur du milieu postsecondaire (c’est-à-dire le candidat), qui est admissible à recevoir du financement de l’un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux, et par l’établissement d’accueil proposé.

La lettre d’intention doit être préparée en collaboration avec les intervenants pertinents. Les candidats doivent indiquer clairement comment le CERCI proposé facilitera l’échange des connaissances entre le Canada et l’Inde dans des domaines d’importance stratégique pour les deux pays.

Le Comité de sélection évaluera le degré d’intégration des intervenants pertinents dans le plan du centre. Il faudrait expliquer aux participants des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif que leur niveau de participation sera déterminant pour la réussite du centre.

Si plusieurs lettres d’intention sont présentées dans le même domaine, le Comité de sélection peut proposer que ces candidats présentent une seule demande conjointe.

Formulaire de lettre d’intention (en format PDF)

Le formulaire de lettre d’intention (en format PDF) est disponible dans le site Web des RCE à www.nce-rce.gc.ca/_docs/competitions/CIRCE-CERCI/LOIForm-FormulaireLI_fra.pdf.

Vous devez remplir toutes les sections.

Section 1 : Renseignements sur le centre

  • Titre du centre proposé ainsi que l’acronyme (en français et en anglais);
  • Établissement d’accueil;
  • Nom, titre, langue de correspondance;
  • Poste, établissement ou département;
  • Adresse, ville, province, code postal de l’établissement;
  • Numéro de téléphone, poste, adresse de courriel;
  • Liste des dix mots clés qui décrivent le mieux le centre proposé;
  • Signatures du candidat et du président ou chef de la direction de l’établissement d’accueil.

Section 2 : Résumé aux fins de diffusion publique

  • En 300 mots ou moins, donnez un aperçu du centre proposé.

Section 3 : Chercheurs

Donnez la liste des chercheurs qui se sont engagés à participer au programme de recherche du centre, au Canada et en Inde. Donnez le nom et le prénom du chercheur ainsi que son affiliation. Précisez le rôle et les responsabilités de chaque chercheur dans le cadre du programme du centre (p. ex., ingénieur pour la modélisation de la mise à l’échelle, éthicien pour l’élaboration des politiques). Enfin, estimez le pourcentage de temps rémunéré que le chercheur consacrera aux activités du centre.

Section 4 : Partenaires

Donnez le nom des partenaires qui participeront aux activités du centre, leur pays, leur secteur (p. ex., industrie, gouvernement fédéral, gouvernement provincial, administration municipale, organisation non gouvernementale, organisation sans but lucratif) et leur rôle (p. ex., fournisseur d’installations ou d’équipement, surveillance scientifique). 

Section 5 : Dépenses prévues

Donnez un aperçu des dépenses des fonds provenant des RCE et des autres fonds pour les cinq prochaines années en utilisant les catégories fournies. Sur une ou des page(s) distincte(s), fournissez une justification du budget, notamment une description de chaque poste. Donnez des détails sur les fonds autres que ceux des RCE. Veuillez noter qu’un formulaire de budget plus détaillé sera requis à l’étape de la demande.

Lettre d’appui de l’établissement d’accueil (deux pages au plus)

La lettre d’appui de l’établissement d’accueil proposé devrait donner un aperçu de la nature de l’appui prévu. L’établissement d’accueil joue un rôle important auprès du CERCI en assurant un soutien direct au centre administratif et en participant à la gouvernance du CERCI par l’intermédiaire de membres nommés d’office ayant droit de vote au sein du conseil d'administration.

Cette lettre doit être signée par le candidat et le président ou chef de la direction de l’établissement qui propose d’accueillir le centre administratif du CERCI (c’est-à-dire l’établissement d’accueil). Les signatures figurant sur la lettre devraient correspondre aux signatures figurant à la section 1 du formulaire. 

Section en formule libre (dix pages au plus)

Utilisez les sections suivantes pour décrire le CERCI proposé en dix pages ou moins. Les pages, textes ou matériel en trop seront retirés. Pour en savoir plus sur les critères d’évaluation, consultez le Guide du concours visant à créer un CIRCE.

Réseautage et partenariats

Le centre réunira les personnes et organismes clés au Canada et en Inde dont la collaboration est requise pour établir des partenariats coordonnés qui auront une incidence sur les plans social, économique, technologique ou du bien-être dans les deux pays.

  • Définissez les domaines stratégiques d’importance que le CERCI propose d’étudier et expliquez en quoi le centre favorisera les relations entre les organisations et accroîtra la collaboration entre chercheurs.
  • Résumez l’historique des partenariats avec des organismes indiens complémentaires. Expliquez en détail comment le CERCI aidera à accroître la visibilité internationale du Canada ainsi que la qualité des efforts de sensibilisation en vue de promouvoir la réputation du Canada en tant que chef de file international en sciences et en technologie.
  • Démontrez comment le CERCI proposé relèvera les défis complexes auxquels sont confrontés les Canadiens et les Indiens selon un point de vue multisectoriel et multidisciplinaire international.

Mobilisation des connaissances et échange de technologies

Le CERCI améliorera les compétences et pratiques du Canada et de l’Inde en sciences et en technologie, en plus de procurer des avantages économiques et sociaux en aval, comme la technologie, le développement des marchés et l’élaboration de politiques publiques au moyen de la mobilisation des connaissances issues de la recherche.

  • Décrivez la manière dont le CERCI mobilisera les groupes actuels d’utilisateurs finals et les approches qui seront adoptées pour relever et combler les besoins en connaissances des groupes d’utilisateurs finals dans les deux pays.
  • Décrivez la stratégie du centre en matière de mobilisation des connaissances et de propriété intellectuelle.

Gestion du réseau

Le centre possédera une structure organisationnelle capable de gérer les fonctions opérationnelles relatives à un projet multidisciplinaire complexe, rentable et auquel participent plusieurs établissements, mené par le Canada et l’Inde, y compris un programme de recherche.

  • Dressez la liste des équipes de gestion et de gouvernance proposées (y compris, mais sans s’y limiter : le centre, la propriété intellectuelle, le personnel hautement qualifié [PHQ], la mobilisation des connaissances et l’échange de technologies, les communications). Définissez les rôles et les responsabilités de chaque poste clé et identifiez le titulaire proposé.
  • Traitez des occasions, des problèmes ou des défis prévus pour les stratégies de communication interne et externe du CERCI concernant la diffusion des connaissances, des réussites et des activités aux participants du réseau, aux utilisateurs finals et au grand public.
  • Décrivez le programme concernant le personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ) et la valeur ajoutée par le centre au mentorat, aux possibilités de formation et aux échanges de recherche existants.

Excellence du programme de recherche

Le centre administratif du CERCI assurera l’excellence de la recherche concertée entre les intervenants canadiens et indiens grâce à la gestion de modèles de collaboration. Le programme de recherche devrait être multisectoriel et multidisciplinaire.

  • Donnez un aperçu de l’état actuel des connaissances dans le domaine, en décrivant tout projet de recherche similaire et son rapport avec le programme de recherche proposé par le CERCI.
  • Précisez les problèmes, les défis ou les possibilités que devra aborder le réseau.
  • Décrivez la portée, l’orientation et les objectifs généraux du CERCI et la façon dont le programme de recherche proposé atteindra ces objectifs.
  • Expliquez en détail la valeur ajoutée de l’approche multisectorielle et multidisciplinaire du centre à l’égard du programme de recherche.

Présentation générale

La section en formule libre de la lettre d’intention doit être convertie en format PDF et fusionnée au formulaire de lettre d’intention (en format PDF) afin de former un seul document électronique à présenter (PDF package).

La section en formule libre de la lettre d’intention doit être préparée comme suit :

  • Format de la page : 8½ x 11 po.
  • Marges : au moins ¾ de pouce de chaque côté
  • Police : Times New Roman (au moins 12 pts) ou Arial (au moins 11 pts). Les caractères comprimés ne sont pas acceptés.
  • En-tête : inclure le titre du centre en haut de chaque page
  • Pages numérotées consécutivement

Les illustrations et les graphiques peuvent être inclus, mais ils seront comptés dans le nombre maximal de pages susmentionné. Les textes, les graphiques ou les illustrations peuvent être présentés en une ou deux colonnes. Toute page en trop sera retirée.

Modalités de présentation

La date limite pour présenter la lettre d’intention au concours visant à créer un CIRCE de 2012 est le jeudi 23 février 2012. Les lettres d’intention doivent être reçues au plus tard à 16 h 30 (HNE).

Nombre d’exemplaires

Une copie originale non brochée et une clé USB contenant une version en format PDF de la lettre d’intention.

Adresse postale

Réseaux de centres d'excellence
Concours visant à créer un CERCI
Salle du courrier, 16e étage
350, rue Albert
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada  
K1A 1H5

Le Secrétariat des RCE confirmera la réception de l’avis d’intention dans la semaine suivant sa réception.

Ressources

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme des RCE, concours visant à créer un CERCI, à :

Téléphone : 613-995-6010
Télécopieur : 613-992-7356
Courriel : info@nce-rce.gc.ca

Liste de vérification

Chaque lettre d’intention doit comporter les éléments suivants dans l’ordre suivant. Le nombre maximal de pages autorisé pour chacun est indiqué ci-après. Toute page en trop sera retirée. Veuillez noter que pour les sections 3, 4 et 5 (justification du budget), il n’y a aucun nombre limite de pages. Veuillez contacter le Secrétariat des RCE si des pages additionnelles des sections 3 ou 4 sont requises.

  • Formulaire de lettre d’intention – Section 1 – Renseignements sur le centre (1 page)
  • Formulaire de lettre d’intention – Section 2 – Résumé aux fins de diffusion publique (300 mots)
  • Formulaire de lettre d’intention – Section 3 – Chercheurs (aucune limite)
  • Formulaire de lettre d’intention – Section 4 – Partenaires (aucune limite)
  • Formulaire de lettre d’intention – Section 5 – Dépenses prévues (1 page)
  • Lettre d’appui de l’établissement d’accueil (2 pages)
  • Section en formule libre (10 pages)
    • Réseautage et partenariats
    • Mobilisation des connaissances et échange de technologies
    • Gestion du réseau
    • Excellence du programme de recherche
  • Justification du budget (aucune limite)