Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Annual Meeting 2013

Annual Meeting showcases digital economy; explores governance and engagement

The Canadian Stroke Network (CSN) was honoured at the NCE Annual Meeting for 14 years of groundbreaking achievements. From left to right: SSHRC President Chad Gaffield, NSERC President Suzanne Fortier, CSN Scientific Director Antoine Hakim, CIHR President Alain Beaudet, and CSN Executive Director Katie Lafferty.

Best practices in governance and effective strategies for engaging stakeholders topped the agenda for the 150 leaders of NCE-funded networks and centres who attended the Networks of Centres of Excellence Annual Meeting February 11-12, 2013 at the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa.

The event opened with a Digital Economy and ICT Showcase, hosted by digital media pioneer and OpenText Executive Chairman Tom Jenkins. Companies that partner with the Graphics, Animation and New Media Canada Network, the Canadian Digital Media Network and Wavefront demonstrated how the networks and centres helped them make new breakthroughs, increase productivity and accelerate their progress onto the world stage.

Keynote presentations on the second day included governance expert Tima Bansal of the University of Western Ontario and Jane Barratt, the Secretary General of the International Federation on Ageing. Panel discussions addressed challenges such as recruiting strong, committed leaders to serve on network and centre Boards of Directors, and choosing the best knowledge mobilization tactics and tools to engage target communities. A final session offered tips on improving applicants’ chances of success in NCE competitions.

Session Summaries

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Assemblée annuelle 2013

L’assemblée annuelle mettait au premier plan l’économie numérique, la gouvernance et la participation

Au cours de le réunion annuelle des RCE, le Réseau canadien contre les accidents cérébrovasculaires (RCCACV) a été honoré pour ses 14 années de réalisations remarquables.  De gauche à droite : Chad Gaffield, président du CRSH, Suzanne Fortier, présidente du CRSNG, Antoine Hakim, directeur scientifique du RCCACV, Alain Beaudet, président des IRSC et  Katie Lafferty, directrice exécutive du RCCACV.

Les pratiques exemplaires en matière de gouvernance et les stratégies efficaces pour inciter la participation des intervenants figuraient en tête de l’ordre du jour pour les 150 dirigeants de réseaux et de centres appuyés par les Réseaux de centres d’excellence (RCE) qui ont assisté à l’assemblée annuelle des RCE les 11 et 12 février au Musée canadien de la nature, à Ottawa.

L’événement a commencé par une présentation sur l’économie numérique et la TIC par Tom Jenkins, pionnier des médias numériques et président exécutif d’OpenText. Les entreprises qui travaillent en partenariat avec le réseau Graphisme, animation et nouveaux médias, le Canadian Digital Media Network et le centre Wavefront ont démontré comment les réseaux et les centres les aident à faire de nouvelles percées, à accroître leur productivité et à accélérer leur progrès sur la scène mondiale.

La seconde journée comprenait des présentations de Tima Bansal, spécialiste en gouvernance de la University of Western Ontario, et de Jane Barratt, secrétaire générale de la Fédération internationale du vieillissement. Les discussions de groupe ont porté sur des défis comme le recrutement de dirigeants solides et engagés pour siéger au conseil d’administration des réseaux et des centres et l’adoption de meilleures tactiques et de meilleurs outils de mobilisation des connaissances pour inciter la participation des collectivités cibles. Dans le cadre de la dernière séance, on donnait des conseils aux candidats pour améliorer leurs chances de réussite aux concours des RCE.

Sommaire des séances