Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NCE Monitoring Committee

The NCE Monitoring Committee is made up of some members of the NCE Standing Selection Committee. It assesses the annual progress of all NCE-networks, NCE-KM networks and the Canada-India Research Centre of Excellence.

Members

(Chair) Krista Outhwaite

Krista Outhwaite

(Vice-chair) Krista Outhwaite has held senior positions within the ranks of the public service of Canada, most recently the President of the Public Health Agency of Canada, where she worked to advance Canada's domestic and international public health priorities with provinces and territories and with the World Health Organization. Prior to her time with the Public Health Agency, Krista was an Assistant Secretary to the Operations Committee of Cabinet, Privy Council Office, and an Assistant Deputy Minister with responsibilities for international trade at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Krista's experience in government included policy, regulatory and trade files in public health, agriculture, food safety and fisheries. She received Government of Canada Public Service awards in policy and program delivery, and the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal.

Bill Borland

Bill Borland

Bill Borland is currently the Principal at Borland & Associates Inc. in Rothesay, New Brunswick. He has held senior environmental management and government relations positions with Dillon Consulting Limited AMEC Environment and Infrastructure, J.D. Irving, Limited, NB Power. Bill sat on the Boards of the Canadian Water Network (Chair), the Canadian Rivers Institute, NB Research and Productivity Council and Enovex Inc. He was also a Member of the National Roundtable on the Environment and the Economy (NRTEE) where he Co-Chaired the Boreal Forest Program and sat on the NRTEE Expert Advisory Committee on Water. He has served on and chaired a number of Expert Panels for the Networks of Centres of Excellence and for the Multidisciplinary Assessment Committee for the Canada Foundation for Innovation. He presently sits on the Board of ECO Canada (Chair, Governance Committee).

Roxanne Deslauriers

Roxanne Deslauriers

Roxanne Deslauriers has a BSc (Experimental Biology) and PhD (Physical Biochemistry). She is currently the Scientific Director at the Thunder Bay Regional Research Institute (TBRRI). Prior to her work with TBRRI, she was a staff member at the National Research Council (NRC) of Canada (1972 - 2013), where she conducted research in biomedical applications of magnetic resonance and became Principal Research Officer. From 1999 – 2013, she was Director of Research and Director of Strategic Programs for the NRC Institute for Biodiagnostics. Dr. Deslauriers has held Adjunct Professorships at the University of Ottawa, the University of Illinois, the University of Winnipeg and the University of Manitoba as well as lectureships and visiting professor/scholar appointments at the University of Toronto, Harbin Medical University (China) and Queen’s University (Kingston, Canada). She is currently an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Lakehead University and an Associate Professor at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM). She has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles and has lectured widely on biomedical applications of magnetic resonance spectroscopy and imaging (MRI). She is a member of national and international science and grant review panels in both North America and Europe, and has mentored scientists and administrators in competitive funding processes in America, Europe and Asia. Dr. Deslauriers is currently Secretary General of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (ISMAR), a Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal by the Government of Canada in 2003.

Molly Jahn

Molly Jahn

Molly Jahn is a professor in the Department of Agronomy, the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment, and the Global Health Institute at the University of Wisconsin-Madison where she also served as the 12th dean of the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, Director of the Wisconsin Agricultural Experiment Station and Special Advisor to the Provost for Sustainability Sciences. She currently holds appointments as Guest Scientist at Los Alamos National Laboratory and Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at Columbia University. In 2009-10 she was appointed Deputy and Acting Under Secretary of USDA by President Barack Obama. She is director of outreach for the $14.7M NASA Earth Observations for Food Security and Agriculture Consortium, leads a project on food security, food systems and national security interests for the US Government, serves as a Special Government Employee on NASA's Applied Sciences Advisory Committee, sits on the Scientific Advisory Committee for Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the National Academies of Science Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources. She consults globally for the seed industry, insurance and commodity trading, entertainment, technology, intelligence, government, philanthropic organizations, and international multi-lateral institutions on agriculture, food security, risk in food systems, life sciences and environment. She teaches a course on Systems Thinking, holds degrees from Swarthmore College, MIT and Cornell, and has received Honorary Doctor of Science degrees in both the UK and US.

Barbara Mittleman

Barbara Mittleman

Barbara Mittleman is an internist and rheumatologist with substantial clinical, bench and administrative experience. She earned B.A., and M.D. degrees from the University of Pittsburgh where she also completed residency and fellowship training in Internal Medicine and Rheumatology. She then came to NIH for additional post-doctoral training in cellular immunology, focusing the autoimmunity and pathobiology of systemic lupus erythematosus. In 1995 she was named the inaugural Director of the NIH's Program on Public-Private Partnerships, where she is charged with developing and promulgating policy, brokering interactions among a wide variety of government and non-government partners, and in the development and execution of partnerships which promote the NIH's public health mission. She lectures widely on partnership-related topics and has provided advice and best practices based on NIH's experience to organizations including other Universities, government agencies, foundations and advocacy groups, companies and trade organizations, and others. She also serves on the CIHR Commercialization Advisory Board.

John Neate

John Neate

John Neate is an entrepreneurial senior executive who has helped organizations navigate the complex challenges of technology innovation, leading to business growth and stakeholder buy-in. He has a unique blend of technical, managerial and operational expertise combined with strategic planning acumen, and demonstrated ability to mobilize resources. John is an experienced builder of positive alliances with businesses and organizations across Canada and internationally, while being a strong communicator, motivational leader, and effective negotiator. John is co-founder of VerifiGlobal, a comprehensive platform for performance measurement and verification across multiple sectors and areas of expertise. He has been a key Canadian contributor to international efforts aimed at encouraging mutual recognition and acceptance of performance testing and verification information across multiple jurisdictions. John has also played a leadership role in the identification and assessment of information gaps, research needs and effective solutions for long-term management of used nuclear fuel in Canada. He is Former President and Chief Operating Officer of Water Technology International Corporation, an employee-owned research services company, and a founding director of the Ontario Centre for Environmental Technology Advancement.

Ka`imi Sinclair

Ka`imi Sinclair

Ka`imi Sinclair is an Assistant Professor at Washington State University-Spokane Health Sciences campus. She has a PhD in Health Behavior and Health Education from the University of Michigan, School of Public Health, and a Master's in Public Health from the University of New Mexico. For two decades, she has conducted grant-funded diabetes prevention and diabetes self-management research with racial and ethnic populations across the United States. Dr. Sinclair's work focuses on culturally adapting health programs and offering them in communities to make them more accessible to underserved populations. In Hawai`i she worked with Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities. Since moving to Washington she has become actively involved with the NHPI community in the Puget Sound region, building a community-academic partnership with several NHPI-serving organizations including the Asian Counseling and Referral Service, the International Community Health Services, and the Asia Pacific Cultural Center, of which she is a member of the Board of Directors. Dr. Sinclair is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for the Migrant Clinician's Network and a co-chair of the Pacific Islander Health Board of Puget Sound.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Comité de surveillance des RCE

Le Comité de surveillance des RCE est composé de certains membres du Comité de sélection permanent des RCE. Il examine le progrès, sur une base annuelle, réalisé par les réseaux RCE, les réseaux MC-RCE et par le Centre d’excellence en recherche Canada-Inde.

Membres

Krista Outhwaite (Présidente)

Krista Outhwaite

Krista Outhwaite (vice-présidente) a occupé des postes de direction à la fonction publique du Canada. Récemment, elle a été présidente de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, où elle s’est employée à faire progresser les priorités nationales et internationales du Canada en matière de santé publique auprès des provinces et des territoires, ainsi que de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Auparavant, elle a été secrétaire adjointe du Comité des opérations du Cabinet, Bureau du Conseil privé et sous-ministre adjointe chargée du commerce international à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. Elle a acquis au gouvernement une expérience des dossiers stratégiques, règlementaires et commerciaux dans les domaines de la santé publique, de l’agriculture, de la salubrité des aliments et des pêches. Elle a reçu des prix de la fonction publique du gouvernement du Canada pour l’exécution de politiques et de programmes, ainsi que la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Elizabeth II.

Bill Borland

Bill Borland

Bill Borland est directeur chez Borland & Associates Inc. à Rothesay, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a occupé des postes de direction en gestion de l’environnement et en relations gouvernementales chez Dillon Consulting Limited, AMEC Environment and Infrastructure, J.D. Irving, Limited et Énergie NB. Il a aussi présidé le conseil d’administration du Réseau canadien de l’eau et siégé à celui du Canadian Rivers Institute, du Research and Productivity Council du Nouveau-Brunswick et d’Enovex Inc. Il a été membre de la Table ronde nationale sur l’environnement et l’économie, où il a coprésidé le Programme de la forêt boréale et siégé au comité consultatif d’experts sur l’eau. Il a fait partie et présidé plusieurs groupes d’experts pour le Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence et pour le Comité d’évaluation multidisciplinaire de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation. Il est actuellement membre du conseil d’administration d’ECO Canada (président du comité de gouvernance).

Roxanne Deslauriers

Roxanne Deslauriers

Roxanne Deslauriers est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie expérimentale et d’un doctorat en biochimie physique. Elle est actuellement directrice scientifique de l’Institut régional de recherche de Thunder Bay (IRRTB). Avant de se joindre à l’IRRTB, Mme Deslauriers a été à l’emploi du Conseil national de recherche du Canada (CNRC) de 1972 à 2013, où elle effectuait de la recherche sur les applications biomédicales de la résonance magnétique, puis y a été agente de recherche principale. De 1999 à 2013, elle a occupé les postes de directrice de la recherche et de directrice des programmes stratégiques à l’Institut du biodiagnostic du CNRC. Elle a en outre été professeure auxiliaire à l’Université d’Ottawa, à la University of Illinois, à la University of Winnipeg et à l’Université du Manitoba, ainsi que chargée de cours, professeure invitée et chercheuse invitée à la University of Toronto, à l’Université de médecine de Harbin (Chine) et à la Queen’s University. Mme Deslauriers est actuellement professeure auxiliaire au Département de chimie de la Lakehead University et professeure agrégée à l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario. Elle a publié plus de 200 articles revus par les pairs et donné de nombreux exposés sur les applications biomédicales de la spectroscopie et de l’imagerie par résonance magnétique. Mme Deslauriers siège à des comités nationaux et internationaux d’évaluation de demandes de subvention et d’examen scientifique en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Elle encadre également des scientifiques et des administrateurs dans le cadre de concours de subventions en Amérique, en Asie et en Europe. Mme Deslauriers est actuellement secrétaire générale de l’International Society of Magnetic Resonance et membre de l’International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. En 2003, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Elizabeth II décernée par le gouvernement du Canada.

Molly Jahn

Molly Jahn

Molly Jahn est professeure au Département d’agronomie, au Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment et au Global Health Institute de la University of Wisconsin-Madison, où elle a également été la 12e doyenne du College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, directrice de la Wisconsin Agricultural Experiment Station et conseillère spéciale du doyen des sciences de la durabilité. Elle est actuellement scientifique invitée au Los Alamos National Laboratory et chercheure principale adjointe à la Columbia University. En 2009-2010, le président Barack Obama l’a nommée sous-secrétaire adjointe intérimaire du département de l’Agriculture des États-Unis. Elle est directrice de la sensibilisation à l’Earth Observations for Food Security and Agriculture Consortium de la NASA doté d’un budget de 14,7 millions de dollars, dirige un projet sur la sécurité alimentaire, les systèmes alimentaires et les intérêts en matière de sécurité nationale pour le gouvernement des États-Unis, et fait partie du comité consultatif des sciences appliquées de la NASA à titre d’employée spéciale du gouvernement, du comité consultatif scientifique de l’Oak Ridge National Laboratory et du comité de l’agriculture et des ressources naturelles des National Academies of Science. Elle fait de la consultation à l’échelle internationale pour divers secteurs, notamment l’industrie des semences, l’assurance, les opérations sur les marchandises, les loisirs, la technologie, la veille commerciale, le gouvernement, des organisations philanthropiques, des institutions multilatérales internationales, l’agriculture, la sécurité alimentaire, les risques des systèmes alimentaires, les sciences de la vie et l’environnement. Elle donne un cours sur la pensée systémique, détient des diplômes du Swarthmore College, du MIT et de la Cornell University et est titulaire de doctorats honorifiques en sciences du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis.

Barbara Mittleman

Barbara Mittleman

Barbara Mittleman est interniste et rhumatologiste et elle a acquis une expérience clinique, expérimentale et administrative considérable. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat et son diplôme de médecine à la University of Pittsburgh, où elle a aussi effectué sa résidence et son stage en médecine interne et en rhumatologie. La Dre Mittleman a ensuite joint les rangs des National Institutes of Health (NIH) pour obtenir une formation postdoctorale supplémentaire en immunologie cellulaire, centrée sur l’auto-immunité et la pathobiologie du lupus érythémateux disséminé. En 1995, elle a été nommée première directrice du Programme de partenariats publics-privés des NIH, où elle est chargée de l’élaboration et de la diffusion des politiques, de la négociation des liens entre une vaste gamme de partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, ainsi que de l’élaboration et de la réalisation de partenariats qui favorisent la mission de santé publique des NIH. Elle donne de nombreuses conférences sur des sujets liés au partenariat et elle a partagé des conseils et des pratiques exemplaires fondés sur son expérience au sein des NIH avec des organisations, notamment d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, des fondations et des groupes de revendication, des entreprises et des organismes de commerce. Elle siège aussi au comité consultatif sur la commercialisation des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada.

John Neate

John Neate

John Neate est un cadre supérieur qui a la fibre de l’entrepreneuriat. Il est reconnu pour sa capacité à aider les organisations à composer avec les défis complexes que pose l’innovation technologique de façon à croître et à obtenir l’appui des parties intéressées. Il possède une expertise variée et unique dans le domaine de la technique, de la gestion et des opérations, un savoir-faire en planification stratégique et une capacité manifeste de mobiliser les ressources. Passé maître dans la création d’alliances fructueuses avec des entreprises et des organisations de l’ensemble du Canada et du monde, M. Neate possède d’excellentes compétences en communication en plus d’être un leader inspirant et un négociateur efficace. Il est cofondateur de Verify Global, plateforme de mesure et de vérification du rendement pour de multiples secteurs et domaines d’expertise. Il est un acteur clé du Canada dans les initiatives internationales visant à favoriser la réciprocité, entre pays, dans la reconnaissance et l’acceptation de l’information sur les mesures et la vérification du rendement. M. Neate joue aussi un rôle de premier plan dans la définition et l’évaluation des lacunes en matière d’information, des besoins en recherche et des solutions efficaces pour la gestion à long terme des combustibles nucléaires usés au Canada. Il a auparavant été président et chef de l’exploitation de Water Technology International Corporation, entreprise qui appartient à ses employés et qui propose des services de recherche, ainsi que directeur fondateur du Centre ontarien de l’avancement des techniques écologiques.

Ka`imi Sinclair

Ka`imi Sinclair

Ka`imi Sinclair est professeure adjointe au campus Spokane Health Sciences de la Washington State University. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en comportement en santé et en éducation en santé de la School of Public Health de la University of Michigan et d’une maitrise en santé publique de la University of New Mexico. Pendant deux décennies, elle a réalisé des travaux de recherche subventionnés sur la prévention et l’autogestion du diabète chez les populations raciales et ethniques de l’ensemble des États Unis. Ses travaux axés sur l’adaptation culturelle et la disponibilité des programmes de santé ont pour but d’accroitre l’accès des populations mal servies à ces programmes. À Hawaï, elle a travaillé avec des communautés d’Autochtones d’Hawaï et des iles du Pacifique. Depuis qu’elle est déménagée à Washington, elle est activement engagée auprès de ces communautés dans la région de Puget Sound, établissant des partenariats entre les universités et les organismes qui les aident, notamment l’Asian Counseling and Referral Service, l’International Community Health Services et l’Asia Pacific Cultural Center. Elle est d’ailleurs membre du conseil d’administration de ce dernier. Elle est également membre du comité consultatif scientifique du Migrant Clinician’s Network et coprésidente du Pacific Islander Health Board of Puget Sound.